Queensland Women in STEM Prize

Submissions Open Submissions Close Finalists Notified Awards Ceremony for Finalists
11 February 2022 14 April 2022 3 June 2022 12 July 2022
Submissions Open Submissions Close
11 February 2022 14 April 2022
Finalists Notified By Awards Ceremony for Finalists
3 June 2022 12 July 2022

The 2022 Queensland Women in STEM Prize recognises the valuable contribution of Queensland women working in STEM careers, and aims to inspire women and girls to start and thrive in STEM careers for the benefit of the whole community. The Prize is presented by Queensland Museum Network, in partnership with the Office of the Queensland Chief Scientist and the Office for Women and Violence Prevention.

Every day, our internationally-renowned leaders in science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) are applying their expertise to ensure economic prosperity and sustainability and enhance community well-being. Advancements in gender equality have supported more women and girls to be able to fully and freely participate in the vast opportunities Queensland has to offer. The contribution of women and girls to the STEM field in Queensland is profound. However, women continue to remain underrepresented as leaders and under recognised for their contribution across many domains. This particularly includes the STEM industries.

This state-wide competition is open to early to mid-career women working in STEM careers in Queensland who have made an outstanding contribution to STEM fields and who inspire women and girls to join STEM. To enter, applicants are required to provide a written application and a short video.Three professional development awards are available:

  • Judges’ Award presented to the most meritorious applicant
  • The Breaking Barriers Award presented to the most meritorious Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander applicant, applicant with a disability, or applicant who is a carer.
  • Highly Commended Award(s) considered to be a meritorious applicant, as determined by the judges.

Previous winners of the Prize are feeding the world through sustainable livestock production; establishing new manufacturing industries and advancing medical science through drug discovery and improved understanding of immune responses. Read more about our past winners or get a glimpse of the 2021 winners below.